human, being


De-decorating
January 5, 2009, 11:40 am
Filed under: life, Parenting & Co-Parenting | Tags: , , ,

Today, Lauren is off school and we’re using my last day of vacation to take down all of the Christmas decorations. Even though we put them up the day after Thanksgiving, it still feels like they haven’t been up very long. It’s a lot of work, and when it’s done, the house looks absolutely naked.

Every year, I try to get more organized in how I put everything away. Last year I bought legitimate ornament boxes, wreath holders, even a thingy for the wrapping paper. It was a lot easier to decorate the house, being so organized at the start. And for the first year in forever, I can’t see myself purging anything. It felt like just enough holiday cheer around our house in 2008.

Lauren is good about helping around the house now … if I pay her. So she’ll be earning $1 for every hour she helps me. She can also help me clean the house afternoon at the same rate. She’ll be rich! Or she’ll learn how to clean the toilet. She may not appreciate that skill now, but come 11 years from now when she has to clean her own toilet, she’ll thank me for it.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Wow, you have all your decorations down? Good for you! I suck, my daughters were supposed to help me last weekend, but alas, did not. Wow, I now have plans for this weekend! Sweet!

Comment by Onediva




Leave a Reply

