human, being


I’m making miracles
February 11, 2009, 10:07 am
Filed under: As I See It | Tags: , , , ,

I don’t know that $15 a month from just me helps anyone. I do know that $15 a month from 20,000 people helps a lot of people. That $15 is what it takes to be a “Miracle Maker” in The Children’s Miracle Network’s Radiothon, live on Denver’s Alice 105.9 right now.

CMN Rocky Mountain funds The Children’s Hospital in Denver, the only free-standing children’s hospital in the Rocky Mountain region. I worked at Children’s for almost 10 years, so yes, I’m a gomer for the organization. But my support is not just skin-deep, or credit-card deep for that matter. Children’s has been instrumental in the life and health of some of my closest friends, my sister, my daughter, my friends’ and coworkers’ children.

I used to write article after article for Children’s to convince people that kids need a kids’ hospital–Children’s old motto. When my daughter broke her wrist at age 3, the ER doc in Vail wouldn’t set it. He insisted we go to Children’s Orthopedic Department because they knew exactly how to set bones in children to ensure those bones grew properly after they healed. So Lauren went to Children’s, and they let her pick the color of her cast, and add glitter to it. When it came time for a cast change, the ortho tech had Disney princess songs on his iPod for her to listen to so she wouldn’t be scared by the saw’s noise. Her wrist is fine today, four years later, and I have not forgotten the extra care that man took with my daughter.

Chances are you know someone who has been affected by The Children’s Hospital in Denver. Tune in to Alice 105.9 today, tomorrow and Friday to hear stories of how this remarkable place has changed the lives of families throughout the Rocky Mountain region. And open your wallets. You can find $15 a month to support this excellent cause. Donations are tax-deductible.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

