human, being


This weekend: Philadelphia
April 25, 2009, 1:17 pm
Filed under: photography | Tags: , , , ,

I’m in Philadelphia for five days for the National Cancer Institute Public Affairs Network’s annual meeting. An hour ago, I attended my first steering committee meeting, and all I can report is this group has a lot of fun.

This morning, after a somewhat restless night of sleep (but sleep nonetheless), I strolled across the street from the downtown Marriott, where the conference is, to the Reading Terminal Market. This structure used to be a train depot, and now it’s an indoor farmer’s market/cafe central. I ate a ham and egg crepe, then strolled around the various stalls. If you want something to eat, or to take home to eat, you can find it here. With a cup of coffee in hand, I then walked 10 blocks to the Old City district. I stopped in the Free Quaker Meeting House, which was erected before the Revolution by Quakers who wanted to fight the British, saw Benjamin Franklin’s grave, visited another Quaker meeting house, founded by William Penn, then the Christ Church, where the bells rang to declare our Independence. I took some pictures of Betsy Ross’s house for Lauren, who is fascinated by her.The thing about touring a city by yourself and using a DSLR is people are too intimidated by the camera to snap your picture. I’ll keep it with me for our evening events, because certainly my PR cohorts know their way around a camera.

I uploaded today’s photos to my flickr feed. Here are my three favorites:

Christ Church

Meeting House

Spring Blossoms

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hello! I found your blog through NaBloPoMo, and need help posting pictures in the Text widget on wordpress. Can you help me? I do love the pictures on your blog, and I would love to be able to link in my sidebar the writing sites that have been helping me. Thank you so much! -Meg

Comment by blisshappens




Leave a Reply

