human, being


Random Tuesday Thoughts

Random Internet Surfing

I like the “next” button on my WordPress.com dashboard. Last night, I pushed it for an hour or so and found lots of interesting stuff, including a book about the “Narcissism Epidemic” and this great video by Ida Maria, a Norwegian rock chick who brings me back to my ’80s childhood roots:

Bugs

I’ve been having frustrating software issues on both computers lately. I think I’m missing a critical plug in–flash, maybe? Both say they’re fully updated, but I can’t get two critical pieces of work software (web editing and email newsletter editing) to work. Which means I get to remember how to code in html. Yuck.

Fashion

Tut, tut it looks like rain. But it’s also supposed to be in the high 60s or low 70s today. I’ve forgotten how to dress for this weather.

Work

Over the weekend, I took this career/personality/skills/personal attributes assessment called MAPP. In the end, you get a long, detailed description of what kind of work you are suited for. The free version doesn’t give you your top 10 career fields, just 11-20, and most of the report is redacted. So, I ponied up $39.95 to get the full report. My top 10 jobs?

  1. Creative Writing
  2. Fine arts teacher
  3. Reporter
  4. Librarian or information systems manager
  5. Actress
  6. Composer/conductor/music engineer
  7. Architect/interior designer/graphic designer
  8. PR and marketing
  9. Secretary/executive assistant
  10. Counselor/psychiatrist/social worker

Each of these is considered an equally good choice for me. The only surprises on this list are #5 and #6. Otherwise I’ve either done or considered doing the other jobs. I guess that means I know myself well. The rest of the report has me pretty spot on, so I think the list is accurate. I was disappointed not to receive earth-rending insight for my $39.95.

The other insight I gleaned from the report is that while I can handle details, I prefer not to, and when I’m forced to (think editing mailing lists, nitty-gritty event planning) I feel claustrophobic. I’d never been able to articulate how those things make me feel. I’m definitely a big picture kind of person.

So where to go from here? I think I’ll look at what it would take to become an architect at this point in my life, or maybe a psychiatrist. I believe I’d have to get a second undergrad degree and then a master’s degree, so those could be a long road. Or, I revisit the idea of an MBA in Marketing or a Masters in Management–whatever has the least amount of math. Especially in the current job market, I don’t believe I’ll be able to move up in my career with a bachelor’s degree. The competition is too stiff.

Or, maybe I’ll open up the 3-4 novels I’ve started in the past 10 years and see if any of them intrigues me enough to pick up again.

Cinco de Mayo

Today at work we’re having a potluck for Cinco de Mayo. Last night I made my famous chicken enchiladas. Steve and Lauren both whined about how I never make them chicken enchiladas. So, I’ll make some more tomorrow night. Here’s my recipe

1 fryer chicken

2 TBS cumin, 2 TBS dried oregano, 6 peppercorns, 2 bay leaves

1 onion, cut into 1/8s

4 cups water

1 can Stokes green chile with chicken

1 small can chopped green chiles

12 flour or 15 corn tortillas

1 small can sliced black olives

1 small bag shredded Mexican Cheese

  1. In a slow cooker, combine whole chicken, water, spices and onion. Cook on low for 6-8 hours, until meat is falling off the bone.
  2. Remove chicken and let cool. Strain out onions, reserving at least 1/2 cup of stock.
  3. Chop onions. Shred chicken into a large bowl.
  4. Add onions, Stokes, reserved stock and green chiles to the bowl. Mix well.
  5. Preheat oven to 350.
  6. Spoon a generous amount of chicken mixture into a tortilla, roll and place in a 9×13 baking pan. Repeat until mixture is gone.
  7. Pour enchilada sauce over rolled tortillas. Top with cheese and olives.
  8. Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes, until cheese is melted and meat is warmed.
  9. Devour!
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

